Blog Archive, WJMC 2017

WJMC Day Six

July 14, 2017, 7:12AM

We got up early just to have our last breakfast together as the 2017 Session 1 Pink Group. Even though some slept in and missed the party, we had a blast laughing together one last time.

 

My Thank Yous

To Melissa. You will always be my WJMC Mom. Thank you for being open to learning teenager slang, making me play those stupid team building games, talking to me about your daughters and keeping the group in check.

You taught me how to have a good time working.

To Nathan. From the minute I met you, I was a teary eyed mess with no luggage, but you handled me just like a mom would that day and all week. I applaud and thank you for that. You’re one of the best things that came out of this week. I will never forget you and the bond we made.  

From you messing with me everyday like the older brother I never had to dodging all my selfie attempts by using the pesky pink flag.  Also our night talks about who knows what while walking back to the dorm to the bus fist bumps that I dodged but had grown to love. You making sure I had my vegan meal to taking some of the most terrible photos of me and sending them to the gc to wheeling me around and making me laugh the whole ride to trying to make us all go to Mason. I was always having fun.

You taught me to say tarantula without showing my teeth and how to wave a pink flag. 

To Kennedy, Bryson, Pierce and Erick. We some how clicked on Day Two and were inseparable. Whether it be cracking jokes, laughing, toasting each other in the gc, messing around at meals, playing iMessage games, eating bananas or blowing up the gc during speakers. We were having fun either way. I will forever cherish the mems. 

Thanks for giving me Valet Parking.

To everyone else in pink. Thank you for listening to me when I talked about veganism, putting up with me complaining about food, having color group meeting where I would stare in confusion, dancing around me at the gala and for making me feel so loved after six days. I’m amazed that we grew so much in a short time period. After all this, we somehow never got a chant. 

To Elena, Ali, Rachel, Selina, Michael and everyone else on the A Team. You guys rock!!! You got my luggage to me, came to the rescue when I dislocated my knee, kept everyone safe and so much more that some will never understand. I honestly don’t know what I would have done with out this dream team at WJMC. 

To Future Correspondents

Be prepared for three, maybe four hours of sleep each nigh.

Bring comfy shoes, no one cares. I wore my heels for pictures, and switched into Birks.

Be prepared to eat cafeteria food and bring lots of snacks. Read about what I ate vegan HERE.

Bring a water bottle, and fill it up every chance you get.

Bring a pillow, blanket, and fitted sheet. They provide some, but trust me bring your own.

Connect with you FA and JFA. Talk to them on the walks back to the dorms, on the bus, at meals, really any chance you get build a solid relationship.

cb signature

Full Photo Album
Leave a Reply

